2019

Fair Long-Term Care Insurance

The study of optimal long-term care (LTC) social insurance is generally carried out under the utilitarian social criterion, which penalizes individuals who have a lower capacity to convert resources into well-being, such as dependent elderly individuals or prematurely dead individuals. This paper revisits the design of optimal LTC insurance while adopting the ex post egalitarian social criterion, which gives priority to the worst-off in realized terms (i.e. once the state of nature has been revealed).

Tax-Sheltered Retirement Accounts: Can Financial Education Improve Decisions?

We conduct a stated-choice experiment to analyze the decision to contribute to front- or back-loaded tax-sheltered savings accounts. Our experimental design includes a randomized financial education treatment that provides information on the two types of accounts. We assess whether respondents learn about the tax implications of these accounts, and whether they make better contribution choices when exposed to the financial education intervention.

Maîtriser les dépenses de santé face au changement démographique : Une analyse de l’évolution des coûts à l’hôpital au Québec

Using longitudinal medico-administrative data on hospital health costs and stays in Quebec between 1995 and 2012, we performed a decomposition of the variation in costs in order to analyze its main determinants. Over the period analyzed, the share of hospital stays accounted for 86% of the increase in hospital costs, compared to 14% for fee-for-service medical services. From 2008 to 2012, this distribution was 41% and 59%, respectively; the sharp rise in the cost of medical services has thus largely contributed to the rise in hospital costs.

Partners

Industrielle Alliance, Groupe financier

2019 © Chaire de recherche Industrielle Alliance sur les enjeux économiques des changements démographiques

2019

Fair Long-Term Care Insurance

L’étude de l’assurance soins de longue durée (SLD) optimale s’effectue généralement à partir d’un critère de bien-être utilitariste. Ceci pénalise les individus ayant peu de capacités pour convertir des ressources en bien-être, tels que les personnes âgées en perte d’autonomie ou décédées prématurément. Cette recherche revisite la conception de l’assurance SLD optimale. Ce faisant, le critère égalitaire, s’appuyant sur l’expérience (faits constatés) et priorisant ainsi les plus démunis, est adopté.

Tax-Sheltered Retirement Accounts: Can Financial Education Improve Decisions?

Nous utilisons la méthode du choix exprimé pour analyser la décision de contribuer à des comptes d’épargne à impôt différé, taxés à l’entrée ou à la sortie. Notre plan expérimental comprend un traitement à assignation aléatoire en matière d’éducation financière, qui fournit aux répondants de l’information sur chacun des types de comptes. Nous évaluons dans quelle mesure les répondants apprennent les caractéristiques fiscales de ces comptes et s’ils font de meilleurs choix lorsqu’ils sont exposés à une intervention d’éducation financière.

Maîtriser les dépenses de santé face au changement démographique : Une analyse de l’évolution des coûts à l’hôpital au Québec

À partir de données médico-administratives longitudinales sur les séjours et les coûts de santé à l’hôpital au Québec entre 1995 et 2012, nous avons effectué une décomposition de la variation des coûts afin d’en analyser les principaux déterminants. Pendant la période analysée, la part des séjours hospitaliers a représenté 86 % de la hausse des coûts à l’hôpital, contre 14 % pour les services médicaux à l’acte. De 2008 à 2012, cette répartition a été respectivement de 41 % et 59 %; la forte hausse des coûts des services médicaux a donc largement contribué à la hausse des coûts à l’hôpital.

Partenaires

   

Industrielle Alliance, Groupe financier

2019 © Chaire de recherche Industrielle Alliance sur les enjeux économiques des changements démographiques